top of page

Nominations: Countdown to Closing

We are currently counting down to the Nominations for the Pupil Library Assistant of the Year (PLAA) 2024 officialling closing on Monday 13th November 2023. You don't have long left to nominate for this prestigous award!


While we are excited to hear about all our new nominees, we thought we'd take the opportunity to look back on how the experience of being Pupil Library Assistants and being a part of the PLAA affected finalists and winners from previous years:

"It was an amazing day that I know I will remember forever. When I met the other finalists and heard about what they had done in their libraries, I honestly thought that one of them would win, which made the announcement that I had won the award even more of a surprise. The rest of the day felt like I’d been swept up in this incredible whirlwind, with lots of people asking me for photos or to tell them about my project."

~Megan Urmston, Abbeyfield School, Chippenham

PLAA Winner 2023


“When I think about what the library means to me now, one of the things that jumps to mind is how I have changed since I first entered the library and how much I know the library will change me in time to come. The library has helped me become so much more than I was, or could ever have hoped to be at that stage. I am more aware, more confident, and more of a leader than ever before. In short, the library has meant a lot of different things to me, but ultimately it just means home"

~Victoria Langford, St Hilda’s School, Liverpool

PLAA Winner 2017


I have been heavily involved in promoting the role of Pupil Librarian to other students. I have found my role as Pupil Librarian an extremely enjoyable and an invaluable opportunity, and it has become a very important part of my school life.

~Zac, pevious finalist



It is humbling to know that students have benefitted from the work I have done, and I have had a positive impact on somebody’s life.

~Ed, previous finalist


Being a Pupil Librarian is, for me, more than just an extra-curricular activity. It is a unique role within the school which enables me to share my love of reading and libraries with pupils and staff, and help them enjoy anything vaguely 'library'.

~James, pevious finalist



This year, the Pupil Library Assistant of the Year Award is open for nominations for Primary and Secondary school pupils. The nomination form can be downloaded from the PLAA 2024 page, where you can also find details on how to submit. The deadline for submissions is Monday 13th November 2023.




Comentários


Featured Post
bottom of page